Feeding Log: August 24, 2013

A word of introduction: this feature is going to be oriented around showcasing three of my ranked games from League of Legends each week, with some explanation of how the game played out and what I feel about my own personal performance.  In addition, once I feel I’ve reached the point where I’m comfortable soloqueuing it, you might see some accounts of Dota 2 games start to crop up here as well.

This, then, is something of a personal diary and as such I probably won’t go into a huge amount of detail explaining the lexicon entirely (although anyone with any questions is welcome to ask me in the comments or on Twitter.)  As far as my League background goes – I’ve got about 250 wins in normal games, and around 500 games total.  I tend to play support when I can get it, but I also enjoy jungling, top lane, and some ADC if I can be Ezreal or Miss Fortune.

In Ranked, I was placed into Silver V at the start of Season 3 but due to neglecting Ranked for Normals, I decayed down into Bronze I.  Right now I am in Bronze I still, and this log will be a chronicling of my dubious journey up or down the ladder.  Will I make it out of hell, or am I doomed to the Bronze mines forever?  Only time will tell.  It’s the Feeding Log!

WEEK 1 – BRONZE 1, 11 LP (-70)

                Oof.  Well, this is an inauspicious start.  Three losses in a row!  I don’t really feel like any of them are specifically my fault, but that’s the nature of the beast, isn’t it?  I didn’t play great in a lot of these, at least, but I think they’re useful practice.  Most of my teammates were pretty civil at any rate, which helps.  Let’s, uh, hope next week goes better.

 Image

GAME 1 – THRESH – SUPPORT w/ TRISTANA, KASSADIN, KHA’ZIX, AND JAX vs NIDALEE, CAITLYN, KATARINA, LEE SIN, AND NAUTILUS

THRESH WASN’T BANNED.  Unfortunately, I still lost.  Ultimately a combination of some bad hooks on my part and the lack of lane presence by our jungle Jax caused the team to buckle.  Katarina getting fed mid lane didn’t help, given how snowball she can be.  Alas.

                 What I did well:  I had some good lane presence and I hit a few clutch hooks.  I think my vision was pretty on point too, although it didn’t help much in the end since the enemy pair of Caitlyn and Nidalee had our lane trapped to hell and back and made it impossible to get out of a gank no matter how early I saw it.

                What I need to improve: I need to get more time on Thresh.  This is hard because Thresh is banned every game.  Maybe blind pick normals?  I feel pretty good about my harass and lane presence but I still need to get better at hitting pulls.  I also need to work on the whole Q->Q->R combo for setting up boxes.  Other than that, it’s just a matter of getting more practice.

Image

GAME 2 – ELISE – JUNGLE w/ YI, KASSADIN, VARUS, AND THRESH vs RIVEN, KARTHUS, SHYVANA, CAITLYN AND TEEMO

                This one got off to a pretty good start, but sort of fell apart on us as Master Yi started running around the map feeding every lane.  God bless him, the sword-booted bastard.  I got caught out here a fair few times and fell waaay behind the enemy Shyvana in farm, although a lot of that is probably because her clears are so much faster than Elise’s.

What I did well: I ganked a crapton.  I’m not sure how good the ganks were, but I was really busting my ass trying to get around to every lane and get people rolling.  It didn’t really work, but there you go.  I also had some great Rappels under towers, since people at my pathetic Elo don’t really understand what to do when the person they’re diving isn’t divable anymore.

What I need to improve: I still fall behind on farm and experience in games where I have to be all over the map.  I need to learn to trust the lanes a little more and get some gold and experience going so that when I do show up, I’m more useful.  Other than that, I really need to get better at hitting Cocoons and making sure I execute my combos properly.  Elise is still in a good place in the jungle, but she’s not as facerolly easy as before.

Image

GAME 3 – JANNA – SUPPORT w/ GRAVES, NUNU, ANNIE, ZED vs. LEONA, VAYNE, LEE SIN, WUKONG, AND GALIO

This one was frustrating to lose.  Graves and I absolutely stomped the enemy Vayne and Leona, but when it came time to teamfighting we weren’t able to carry that advantage to a win.  I think what our team comp was lacking was a real tank; Nunu built some tanky items, but too much AP to really withstand people.  In the end some bad judgment calls and getting caught out cost us this one.

What I did well: I got the pressure on Vayne immediately and never let up.  I feel really good about my presence this game, especially for playing Janna against such an aggressive duo lane.  I had all the bases covered with wards and Graves and I were able to keep the enemy really pushed to their tower, while still avoiding Lee when he came in to gank.

What I need to improve: A lot of my teamfighting was sloppy here.  I didn’t get shields down on the right people and my ults were pretty late and mediocre.  I also got caught in waaay too many Galio ults, and it hurt my ability to peel properly.  I also probably should have stuck with Graves more into mid and late game, but I think he also spent a lot of time out of position.  I should have also tried to direct my team more to where we needed to be, but that’s on all of us.

As will likely always be the case, the images above are courtesy of http://www.lolking.net

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

