Feeding Log: 9-2-2013

Sorry for the slight hiccup in updates; the travelling of the long weekend coupled with falling ill today kind of took a lot of the wind out of my sails.  However, I shall persevere here in the Feeding Log for the sake of the reader and my own masochistic need to throw myself at soloqueue.

WEEK 2 – BRONZE 1, 36 LP

Well now, this went a lot better than last week.  I got support all three games, managed to win two of them, and wound up with a small net gain in LP.  More importantly, I feel pretty good about my performance in most of them, and I’m beginning to really see why Janna has such a high wintrate in Ranked soloqueue.

 Image

GAME 1 – NAMI SUPPORT W/ VAYNE, SWAIN, SHACO, VLAD vs. EVELYNN, ZED, MALPHITE, GRAVES, AND SONA

                This one was a buttblasting.  I really dislike Shaco as a champion – he exists more or less solely as an ambusher and brings almost nothing to a teamfight besides some unreliable single target melee damage without tankyness to back it up.  At any rate, his presence in the laning phase was mostly nonexistent, and so he was unable to snowball properly.     Our bot lane got sat on by the enemy Evelynn and as a result we got pushed pretty hard and couldn’t do much.

What I did well: I had some pretty good bubbles and some good ultimates and had some good teamfight presence in general given the direness of the situation.  I’m still getting used to Nami, but I’ve been getting better at landing clutch bubbles and keeping my Tidecaller’s Blessing on the right people at the right time.

What I need to improve: Still need to work on the bubble timing, even though it’s getting better.  I missed a lot of them at moments where it could have been crucial and got caught out myself in a lot of situations as well.  Also looking back it seems I never placed my Explorer’s Ward.  OOPS.

Image

GAME 2 – JANNA SUPPORT W/ VAYNE, SWAIN, MAOKAI, AND SHYVANA vs. LUCIAN, TALON, RENGAR, JARVAN, AND FIZZ

                A VICTORY!  This one was pretty easy, but not really related to my own performance in any way.  This win was almost entirely the result of our Swain just getting outrageously fed off of the enemy Fizz and snowballing like crazy.  Still, we actually outplayed the enemy botlane fairly decisively, likely because of how badly Rengar falls off as a support outside of the early game.

                What I did well: I backed up Vayne’s aggression really effectively.  Learning to use the shield for the AD bonus and not just the damage absorption is one of the key things about playing Janna and I think I’m really getting better at putting it on when the ADC is going to deal damage, not just receive it.  I had some good tornadoes and ultimates here as well.

What I need to improve: There were a few times where I was pushing a lane when I should have been helping elsewhere.  Pushing lanes isn’t my job as a support, despite the fact that the tornadoes Janan throws are very effective in that regard.  I also need to work on peeling for my carry more when faced with an extremely aggressive bot lane combo.  Still, not much to say here as the game was decided so heavily by a teammate’s excellence.

Image

GAME 3 – JANNA SUPPORT W/ VAYNE, TEEMO, CHO’GATH, AND NASUS vs. FIZZ, VI, GAREN, LUCIAN, AND NAMI

                This one went really well in every lane.  Teemo really outplayed both his original lane partner (Garen) and the replacement swap (Fizz).  In addition, Cho’Gath and Nasus provided us with a huge amount of objective control and let us get some early global gold snowballs by securing quick uncontested Dragon kills under the enemy’s nose.  Once that got rolling, we were able to get Vayne fed bot to the point where she was able to just relentlessly push and outright murder anyone who came to stop her.

                What I did well: Again with a Vayne, I stuck to her and kept her shielded during the right moments of aggression and kept the tornadoes pretty well aimed to protect her when necessary.  I like to think my warding also helped with securing the early objectives and keeping our lane pretty ironclad when it came to warding off ganks from the enemy jungler.  Thanks to my shields I was able to get Vayne an edge in duels with Lucian, which she eventually used to just outright beat him several times and get a significant lane advantage.

What I need to improve: Well, I did ult the enemy jungler over the wall into my carry at point, so there’s that (she lived, okay).  I should be a little more careful placing Janna’s ultimate so as to avoid either giving the enemy a free escape or a free gapcloser onto a priority target.  Beyond that, I did get caught in a few bad Nami bubbles and almost gave up kills as a result.  Still, Janna’s supreme lane protection on the carry is starting to pay dividends in soloqueue.   All in all, I did well.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

