Feeding Log: 9-15-2013

WEEK 3 – BRONZE I, 43 LP

This week was jungletastic, and turned up positive in the end to boot.  I went 2-1 over three games, and those 2 victories were the first two times I’d ever played Jarvan IV in ranked games.  As a side note, this means my win rate with Jarvan IV is now 100%.  DEMACIA.

Image

GAME 1 – JARVAN IV JUNGLE WITH GRAGAS, LEONA, RIVEN, AND CAITLYN vs. SKARNER, DIANA, THRESH, IRELIA AND VARUS

This one was a classic example of when your team does their job so well that jungling almost becomes vestigial.  Gragas absolutely sat on Diana mid and top and bot lane outlaned their opponents as well, which meant my ganks were basically a shooting gallery.  To top it all off, Skarner is pretty hopelessly outmatched pre-teamfights by Jarvan in the current meta so there wasn’t much he could do to stop the train once it got going.

What I did well: My map presence was pretty on point here, and it helped my lanes get going even faster than they would have normally (although they really didn’t need my help).  I don’t think I had a gank the whole game where I didn’t at least squeeze a Flash out of someone, and as a result of my lanes getting so ahead I was able to take more time out to farm the jungle than I’d normally be capable of.  Once I hit 6, the ganks were rolling and were inescapable thanks to Cataclysm, so it was gravy from there.

What I need to improve: I did get a lot of kills that could have gone to the laners.  4-0-2 is a great score, but ideally as a jungler I want to give those kills to the laners when I can.  All of those 4 kills were acquired during ganks, and while it’s great to have extra money, it would’ve been better used on Caitlyn and Riven.  I tend to be very cagey about securing kills, and I need to learn to trust my laners to lock things up a bit more and not slam on everything myself to get the kill locked up as fast as possible.  Still, I guess I shouldn’t complain about getting fed.

Image

GAME 2 – JANNA SUPPORT WITH SINGED, XIN ZHAO, VAYNE, AND KASSADIN vs. LEONA, LISSANDRA, CAITLYN, UDYR, AND JAX

                A battle of attrition that we ultimately lost, although we put up a good fight of it in the end.  We got outlaned pretty hard in the early parts of the game, but we were able to win a few clutch teamfights in our base near the end which could have turned the game around if we’d been able to capitalize on them fast enough.  Alas, we were not, and it led to the slow death by a thousand cuts of losing all of our inhibitors and watching the creeps pour into the base.

What I did well: I went crazy near the end of this bailing people out of stuff, and a lot of people were able to turn fights around once I’d pulled them out of the fire a little bit.  In a game where the team died an overwhelming amount of times I was able to keep my own deaths low and play protector for the rest of the team, which really turned the tide in some fights in a significant way.  I think if we had been a little less reckless with chasing people we could have turned it around, and I think my peel and protect abilities made the difference in a lot of teamfights.

What I need to improve: I need to react to Leona faster in lane, as I allowed her to get ahead and start bullying us.  On top of that, my low death count relative to my team suggests that I may not have been getting as involved in fights as I needed to be, which is a problem.  I’m never quite sure if a low comparative death count means I was just good at avoiding deaths, or if I was being cowardly.  Either way, I probably should’ve gotten a little more into the fray.

Image

GAME 3 – JARVAN IV JUNGLE WITH LEONA, DIANA, ZAC, AND VARUS vs. VI, ALISTAR, FIZZ, JAX, AND ASHE

                I had a lot of fun with this game, even though it was really stressful early.  We had a great tanky teamfight composition, and all I wanted to do was pull us into late game where we’d be unstoppable as a group of five.  The laning phase was a kind of curious thing where I felt like I needed to constantly be running around everywhere on the map at once, but then I’d look at the scoreboard and realize we were really ahead.  Despite the craziness of the early game causing me to fall behind Vi in levels, we were able to turn it around because of our superior team composition and early game lead.

What I did well: I responded well to being called around the map and was able to pull the solo laners out of some rough situations early on.  I also managed to steal a dragon at the last second by hitting it with my E, a frankly ridiculous accident that I will never be able to replicate again in a thousand years.  I’m still taking credit for it though.  Beyond that, I transitioned well into late game and was able to deliver kills to teammates rather than taking them for myself as I did in the previous Jarvan game.

What I need to improve: We came nerve-wrackingly close to throwing this one a couple times near the end.  I need to work on not letting a huge lead get to my head; there were a few times when the three tankier people on the team went waaay deep into the enemy team without the damage behind us to back it up, and we paid for it.  Still, we got our heads on straight by the end and were able to stop ourselves from throwing the game completely, and we were able to lock the game up pretty neatly once we stopped being so dive crazy.

Credit for the data on the images goes, as always, to lolking.net.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

