Feeding Log 10-9-2013

BRONZE I, 49 LP

                Well, it’s a slight advancement, but it is an advancement.  This week I’m back in Summoner’s Rift, and by squeezing out a couple of wins I’ve managed to make a little headway towards the dream of that promotion series to Silver V.  This week was a largely jungle oriented affair with mixed results, although I don’t feel particularly bad about my own performance in any of them except maybe the second.

Image

GAME 1 – JARVAN IV JUNGLE WITH CAITLYN, ASHE, VIKTOR, AND AATROX vs. LEE SIN, KAYLE, VAYNE, JAX, AND SORAKA

This one was pretty much shot in the foot from the get go by the fact that we had two AD Carries, one of whom spent the entire first ten minutes of the game AFK.  Mind you, there are compositions that can use a double AD comp well; in Korea it’s not uncommon to see an extra Ezreal go mid lane and then produce a large amount of split push pressure as the game progresses.  This situation, though, was of the “I didn’t get what I wanted in the pick order but I’ll pick it anyway” variety, and so we were hamstrung from the start.  Still, we almost managed to turn it around, but the hypercarry potential of Vayne is too much to overcome in a scenario like that.

What I did well: I actually managed to get the ball rolling for Viktor early on by jumping Kayle a few times in lane before she had her ult.   I think when I wind up jungling a 4v5 I often overcompensate by just ganking desperately over and over again in an attempt to snowball people and salvage it, so that’s what happened here.  Viktor managed to get a bit fed, but I wasn’t able to deliver the same results top or bot lane.

What I need to improve: I missed a few clutch E-Q combos that could’ve made some ganks go a lot better with the knockup from the combo.  Beyond that, this kind of game isn’t really a great barometer for improvement, as I spent most of the game frantically trying to keep the walls of the dam from exploding into our inevitable defeat.  So it goes!

Image

GAME 2 – JARVAN IV JUNGLE WITH GRAGAS, VAYNE, UDYR, AND THRESH vs. ZAC, CAITLYN, FIZZ, JANNA, AND JAX

                I had fun with this game, even though I got way behind Zac in XP and spent a lot of the game trying to farm my way back up to match him. In my defense, Zac got a lot of farm, which prompts what I call the Meteos Rule: farm jungling only works when all or most of your lanes win, giving you freedom from having to gank as much.  If your lanes are behind, you can’t afford to neglect them for your own farm’s sake.

And Zac sort of neglected them here; Vayne nabbed a couple of kills early on and Udyr was able to just straight up murder Jax in lane in duels several times because of Udyr’s extremely strong 1v1.  I spent a lot of time and effort trying to catch that slippery bastard Fizz in a gank and fell behind as a result, but it turned out fine in the end because our carry got way ahead of Caitlyn and we were in a good position to shut down Jax.

  What I did well: I ganked a lot here, and had some really good timing on a few occasions when I showed up top and bot.  The enemy laners got pretty greedy quite a few times and I did a good job of getting where I needed to be to punish them for their hubris with ganks.

What I need to improve:   The farm, oh god the farm.   I know Zac was spending too much time farming, but I was waaay behind him on CS and really should’ve spent a LITTLE more time in the jungle getting experience. I managed to catch up later in the game via being around for a lot of assists, but the lack of experience I had was really killing me in the mid game.

My other problem was that I messed up a ton of ultimates and generally just didn’t pick Jarvan intelligently.  Nearly every member of their team had a way to escape my ult; Fizz could hop, Zac could leap, Caitlyn could net out of it and Jax had his jump.  Even Janna is poised to use her ultimate to free other people from the thing, or boot me out of it.  Simply put: I should’ve picked Vi.  Picking Vi is always the right choice.  Regardless of how slippery their team was, though, we managed to pull the win out on Vayne and Udyr’s shoulders.

Image

GAME 3: SONA SUPPORT WITH TRISTANA, VOLIBEAR, RIVEN, AND MORDEKAISER vs. VI, NASUS, KASSADIN, CAITLYN, AND KARMA

                Wow, we won this one!  We also really didn’t deserve to, but I won’t tell anyone if you don’t.  We had some really nice kills early on that snowballed Riven, Morde, and Volibear into an early lead, but Volibear was hell bent on throwing that away by sprinting off into the unwarded enemy jungle alone or engaging in fights 1v4.  This game was a grand cycle of people getting caught out needlessly while chasing someone way too far, but we still managed to pull it into the landing and salvage the win in the end.  One of these days I’m going to make some kind of macro that I can put in chat that just says “ROCKET JUMP IS NOT AN INITIATION TOOL”.

What I did well: It’s a Sona game, and like all of my Sona games I felt pretty good about the amount of pressure I was able to dump on Caitlyn in the laning phase.  We were able to hold onto our lane despite the absurd amount of poke coming out of the Caitlyn/Karma combo, and after a gank or two we were able to turn things around and pressure the lane pretty well.  Also, the W power chord is my new favorite toy for dealing with assassins like Kassadin, and I was able to stop some sticky situations by tossing out that and then Exhausting him to remove a ton of his burst capability.  All in all, a pretty solid performance.

What I need to improve: I need to get in the habit of healing people more frequently.  Also, I need to start trying to communicate with the team more to get people to stop running off into the jungle randomly at the drop of a hat and start actually pushing objectives on the map to win.  I spend too much time either silent or just shooting the shit with people in chat, and I should probably try to focus on actually trying to direct people to objectives more often, especially when I’m support and I have the time to be spending a bit more effort on strategy.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

