Feeding Log – 10-15-13

BRONZE I, 44 LP

A positive week, although I think it was a net loss in LP because of the queuedodging I had to do in order to avoid some guaranteed losses.  No amount of LP loss is too great to avoid the psychological torment of a trolling teammate, however.  My winrate on Jarvan isn’t 100% anymore, but still, these were some performances I feel pretty good about.

Image

GAME 1 – JARVAN IV JUNGLE with QUINN, DIANA, SONA, and JAX vs. LEE SIN, NASUS, VOLIBEAR, FIZZ and JINX

            Jinx is a little bit of a terror, isn’t she?  Our big problem here was Nasus, though; we allowed him to get to the lategame in full form and he became predictably huge and unkillable as a result.  A fed Nasus is a hard thing to overcome in the late game, and we just didn’t have the damage output or the item builds necessary to shut him down once he started becoming an unstoppable split pushing juggernaut.

What I did well: Jarvan hit thing with stick real good!  I had a lot of successful ganks here and I’m starting to feel pretty good about my jungle rotations overall.  I’m getting better at being in the right place at the right time, and I was able to scrounce up some kills for the lanes while getting pretty fed myself along the way.  I’m slowly getting better at easing up on the right clicking and letting the autoattack do its thing more as well.

What I need to improve:  Boy do I need to stop putting myself in situations where I have to fight Lee Sin as Jarvan IV.  My ultimate may as well not even exist against him, as he’ll just zip out of it himself or zip in and kick me of out of it if his teammates get stuck in it.  Fizz is similarly impossible to get ahold of because he’s a slippery little fish and just hops out of the walls every time.

Image

GAME 2: JARVAN IV JUNGLE with AHRI, LEONA, PANTHEON, and JINX vs. KARTHUS, KAYLE, JAX, EZREAL, and NAMI

            And here I am playing Jarvan against Ezreal.  In this game, though, we were up against the rare and endangered Revive/Teleport Karthus, a strange beast that stalks the mid lanes of Bronze Elo soloqueue.  I admit, I laughed pretty much every single time I saw him alive immediately after he died.   That’s our Karthus! *laughtrack*

Aside from that (and partially because of it) this was something of a stomp.  Without flash, Karthus was an absolute sitting duck for ganks mid lane, and Ahri snowballed incredibly hard against him by straight up 1v1 killing him early on when he lacked a real escape.  No flash means no getting out of Jarvan’s ult, either, and so mid lane was pretty much easy pickings.  Jax also got completely dunked by Pantheon, giving Pantheon the thing Pantheon needs to be good, which is kills.  As a result, Pantheon and Ahri snowballed like crazy and the insane amount of damage they put out was enough to carry the game.

What I did well:  I got a lot of kills by jumping on people, which is always great.  I felt like a bit of an opportunist this game, but I think that was in large part due to the fact that people kept nearly killing their lane opponents as I arrived for the gank.  I ate Karthus a few times mid lane, because when I see a Karthus without Flash, my eyes roll back into my head and turn into great big dollar signs.  Beyond that, my items were good and I had some great ult wombo combo moments with Leona.

What I need to improve: Not going crazy when way ahead.  We actually came somewhat close to throwing this once we were hugely ahead because we all got a little slap happy and started doing some ludicrous stupid crap.  Keeping your head in the game is key in both situations of extreme failure and extreme success.  This time, we all got a little carried away and it could have hurt us worse than it did.  But it didn’t, so I’ll probably just ignore this important life lesson and go for insane tower dives once I’m fed again.

Image

GAME 3 – SONA SUPPORT with FIZZ, JINX, JAX, and VI vs. AKALI, KASSADIN, JARVAN IV, CAITLYN, and LEONA

            I seem to be running into Jax an awful lot these days.  To be honest, I’m not entirely sure how we won this, but hey, a win’s a win.  I suppose their assassin heavy comp stopped paying off when Akali and Kassadin didn’t get enough kills to effectively scale well into the late game.  We did a pretty piss-poor job of peeling for Jinx, but she was good enough at positioning to pull off a crazy ace at Baron which secured us the game.   That’s the price you pay for investing heavily in an assassin comp; if you can’t get the carry with your burst, she’s going to blow you up with the sustained damage in the late game.

What I did well: I changed my build a bit and leveled W first after resigning to the fact that Caitlyn was going to out-harass us, and I think it let us have a comfortable laning situation.  Jinx was a duoqueue partner with me, and I had a lot of faith in his ability to outfarm Caitlyn, so we were able to eliminate the kill pressure Leona brought and farm in our side of the lane on our terms.

What I need to improve: I went in at some dumb times with the Flash+Crescendo and screwed up some good initiate opportunities in the process.  I tend to go in too fast when the jungler indicates they’re coming, and I need to look at the minimap and be more deliberate about when I decide to go in.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

